Dollies Online Baskets

21 07 2010

In January, I joined a group called Dollies Online run by Sarah Fielke and Amy Lobsinger.  The deal was they would take it in turn to produce a pattern a month and we could either buy the patterns for the whole year or month by month.    Sarah is in Australia, and co-wrote the Material Obsession books and has a blog at

http://thelastpiece.typepad.com/ Amy is in USA and also has a blog at   http://www.mrsschmenkmanquilts.wordpress.com/ They are both great quilters.  I signed up for year because I thought if I had paid my money upfront, I was more likely to make the mini quilts and I was keen to take the opportunity to try out new techniques. I have completed the first 4 months but life got in the way for months 5 and 6.  I decided to make month 7 and deal with the gaps later! Month 7 is a lovely little quilt with baskets.  I used a Moda whimsy charm pack so I have had to adapt the pattern a bit.  Making this has involved applique with bondaweb, using the blanket stitch on my machine to applique the baskets and some hand embroidery.  It now needs some big stitch hand applique.  I love the result and think I might make another one. You can see some of the others on my Flickr pages http://www.flickr.com/photos/quiltingsusy/sets/72157623118900449/

Happy sewing for the summer!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

